Barth’s Bus Stories: Is Dallas a Football Town?

22 Apr
stormtrooper 2I’ve been transcribing dialogues real-time (aka “eavesdropping”) for about 30 years now. It started as an exercise to learn the tone and rhythm of natural speech so that my dialog would be more authentic in my fiction. When social media came along, it became good fuel for posts. Most of Barth’s Bus Stories were typed right into Facebook from my phone or written into a notebook. Now I’m collecting them into my blog.

October 9, 2014

Just now on the 22C:

Large Guy 1: If Dallas aint a football town then I don’t know what it is!

Large Guy 2: What?

1: I said if Dallas aint a football town then I don’t know what it is!

2: You don’t know what it is?

1: Right!

2: Dallas?

1: GREAT football town.

2: No, the saying is “I don’t know what is.” That’s what people say.

1: No, they go, “I don’t KNOW what it is.” Because it ain’t nothing but what I say.

2: No, they go, “I don’t know WHAT is,” like, man, I know football towns and if Dallas aint a football town, then I don’t know WHAT is.

1: A football town?

2: Right.

~long pause~

1: I think Fargo’s nice too.

2 Responses to “Barth’s Bus Stories: Is Dallas a Football Town?”

  1. lydamorehouse April 23, 2015 at 12:30 pm #

    If that isn’t awesome, I don’t know what is.

Comments are closed.

